Anxious thoughts

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,
Your consolations delight my soul. Ps 94:19

I memorized that verse many years ago back when I was still in college. Over the years I have gained a much greater understanding of some of what those consolations are:

He hears us (1 Jn 5.14-15)

He knows our thoughts (Ps 139.2,4)

The Holy Spirit intercedes with groanings too deep for words (Rom 8.26)

He is able to save forever those who draw near to God (He 7.25)

All things work together for good to those who love Him and are called according to His purpose (Rom 8.28 )

Nothing can separate us from the love of God. (Rom 8.38-39)

He will supply all our needs (Ph 4.19)

He will complete the work that He has begun in us (Ph 1.6)

Disciplne…sorrowful…yet yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness (He 12.10-11)

Draw near to God and He will draw near to you (Jas 4.8 )

His Word will not return empty without accomplishing what He sent it out for (Is 55:11)

He will not allow temptation beyond what you are able (1 Cor 10.13

A couple of friends are going through some really hard things right now. I feel distress on their behalf. I want to comfort and encourage them. For the one it is a serious health issue. For the other it is an interpersonal conflict and I feel confused by the seeming lack of communication on both sides. I struggle with wondering why God allows these things to happen to them, yet I sense that He does have a purpose in it. How can I comfort and encourage them? Is there something I could do or say? Or is this the time to just sit back and continue to pray that they would come through as gold (Job 23:10)?

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, insights

Leave a Reply

